News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/17/2020 8:48:31 PM to 8/18/2020 12:00:07 AM.

News Flash

County News & Information

Posted on: July 17, 2020

[ARCHIVED] COVID-19 Update 7/17/2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:               July 17, 2020

Cape May Court House- New Jersey has 176,551 total COVID-19 positive cases and 13,710 deaths. Total positive cases of COVID-19 infection in Cape May County is now 885 including 77 deaths. With sadness, we are announcing the passing of two County Residents, an 88-year-old male and a 91-year-old female both from North Wildwood.  “My heart is filled with sorrow upon hearing the news about the passing of two more residents from this disease,” said Cape May County Freeholder Director Gerald Thornton. “My most sincere condolences go out to the families and friends.”Additionally, there are 13new out of county positive cases that are included in the Non-resident Active Cases listed below.


New Jersey added four more states to its coronavirus quarantine travel advisory and removed Delaware, bringing the list to 22 states that qualify as COVID-19 hotspots. Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio, and Wisconsin were added Tuesday.

Governor Phil Murphy strongly urges individuals arriving from these 22 states to self-quarantine and proactively get a COVID-19 test to prevent hotspots from flaring up across our state.

Travelers arriving from those states are being asked to voluntarily self-quarantine for two weeks and to seek a coronavirus test. Enforcement of quarantine in New Jersey remains questionable. Officials say “compliance is expected,” though the self-quarantine is voluntarily.

New Jersey, Connecticut, and New York jointly announced the quarantine plan last month to help protect their states from other areas with surging cases.

The states have expanded the list three times in the last three weeks. Delaware was added last Tuesday but was dropped after one week.

The quarantine applies to any state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average. People traveling for business are exempt.The list now includes 44% of American states.

The full list:

  • Alabama (added 6/24/20)
  • Arkansas (added 6/24/20)
  • Arizona (added 6/24/20)
  • California (added 6/30/20)
  • Florida (added 6/24/20)
  • Georgia (added 6/30/20)
  • Iowa (added 6/30/20)
  • Idaho (added 6/30/20)
  • Kansas (added 7/7/20)
  • Louisiana (added 6/30/20)
  • Minnesota (added 7/14/20)
  • Mississippi (added 6/30/20)
  • North Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • Nevada (added 6/30/20)
  • New Mexico (added 7/14/20)
  • Ohio (added 7/14/20)
  • Oklahoma (added 7/7/20)
  • South Carolina (added 6/24/20)
  • Tennessee (added 6/30/20)
  • Texas (added 6/24/20)
  • Utah (added 6/24/20)
  • Wisconsin (added 7/14/20)

Call your healthcare professional if you have concerns about COVID-19 and your underlying health conditions. Stay up to date on the current situation as it evolves. Some reliable sources are New Jersey Poison Information and Education System hotline at 211 or 1-800-962-1253, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention at, the World Health Organization at, the New Jersey Department of Health at For additional information visit or Cape May County Department of Health at, also like us on Facebook.

Facebook Twitter Email