Mental Health, Alcohol & Drug Abuse Board

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

Board Members

  •  Mary Dozier
  •  Majken Mechling    
  •  Tom Maletto
  •  Joe Landis
  •  Renee Pettit
  • Judy Kunec, Chair

  •  Robert Johnson
  •  Barry Keefe, Vice-Chair
  •  Deborah Lukens
  •  David Grusemeyer
  •  Thomas Dawson  

About the Board

In order to have a cooperative planning effort and comprehensive coordination in the behavioral health service delivery system, Cape May County merged its Local Advisory Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (required by P.L.1989, Chapter 51 to advise the county Board of Chosen Freeholders in the development of an annual comprehensive plan to address the need for the treatment and prevention of substance abuse) with the county Mental Health Board to form the Mental Health Alcohol and Drug Abuse Board in 1982.

The Mental Health, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Board (MHADA) includes representation from the recovering community, family members, mental health consumers, county Prosecutor’s office, and a wide range of public and private organizations and individuals interested in or experienced with alcohol, drug and mental health related issues.


Responsibilities of the MHADA Board include:

  • Allocation of Chapter 51(substance abuse) and county funding based upon the plan results
  • Development of comprehensive plans as required by state funding source
  • Monitoring of mental health and substance abuse services for funding source requirements
  • Oversight of the Municipal Alliance Program through the county Alliance Steering Sub-committee (CASS)
  • Staffing of various subcommittees to promote service coordination and development
  • Subcontracting with providers of continuum services (detox, outpatient, residential, halfway house, etc.)
  • System advocacy for consumers of service