Planning Department



Created by the Cape May County Planning Board in the late 1970s, this symbol represents the county's unique natural resources and their interaction with our visitors and residents. The symbols represent (clockwise from the bottom right) the wetlands, forests, sky, and man, all surrounding and influenced by the sun (center).


View the Cape May County Planning Department Annual Reports.
View Most Recent Annual Report | View All Annual Reports
View the 2015 Strategic Recovery Planning Report


The Cape May County Planning Department is the professional arm of the Cape May County Planning Board. The department is responsible for the day to day operations that carry out the functions of the Planning Board. These functions include:

FEMA - Federal Flood Insurance Information

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has released Preliminary Flood Hazard Maps for the Cape May County area. Visit the Flood Smart website to get general information on the Federal Flood Insurance Program. Visit the FEMA website to obtain information on the mapping process/implications, including implementation schedule, and to view the maps.

Water Quality Management Plan Project

Existing Sewer Service Area Map

The Existing Sewer Service Area map (PDF) is for demonstration purposes only and was not developed in accordance with National Map Accuracy Standards. Any use of this product with respect to accuracy and precision shall be the sole responsibility of the user. The map was developed, in part, using New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP) Geographic Information System (GIS) digital data, in conjunction with the Cape May County Office of Geographic Information Systems, but this secondary product has not been verified by NJDEP and is not state authorized. The geodetic accuracy and precision of the GIS data contained in this map has not been developed nor verified by a professional licensed land surveyor and shall not be nor is intended to be used in matters requiring delineation and location of true ground horizontal and/or vertical controls. The sewer service areas were developed by the Cape May County Planning Department, Cape May County, Cape May County Municipal Utility Authority, Lower Township Municipal Utility Authority, and the individual Municipalities that have sewer service areas within their boundaries.

Related Documents