Department of Law

About the Office

The Department of Law is chief legal counsel to the Board of Chosen Freeholders and to all county departments, institutions, boards, and agencies. The Department of Law also serves as the attorney for other elected officials such as the Sheriff, the County Clerk, and the Surrogate. Our office staff consists of 2 attorneys and 2 legal secretaries.
Lady Justice
This office also prepares or reviews all contracts and Resolutions prior to their adoption by the Freeholder Board. Other functions include coordination and interface with special counsel for the county -- including litigation counsel, environmental counsel, bond counsel, and labor counsel.