Business Registration

Business Trade Name Certificates
Individuals conducting or transacting business under any assumed name or designation are required to file a Business Trade Name Certificate with the County Clerk's Office. This includes non-incorporated entities such as sole proprietorships or general partnerships (NJSA 56:1-1&c).

Completing the Application
Complete the Business Trade Name Certificate Form (PDF) with the following:
  • Full acknowledgment by a Notary Public or other official authorized to accept oaths. A representative from the County Clerk's Office will acknowledge the Business Trade Name Certificate at the time of filing, provided all operators of the business appear with photo identification.
  • If operators reside outside the State of New Jersey, a Power of Attorney to the County Clerk is required. If the Power of Attorney is a separate attachment, not part of the body of the document, it must be notarized.
  • Name of the business, nature of the business and address of the business.
  • Name(s) and residence address(es) of the business operators (all those financially responsible for the the business).
  • Signature(s) with printed name(s) above and below acknowledgment.
The form must be filed in duplicate - original for the County Clerk, duplicate is forwarded to the New Jersey Division of Revenue. Businesses usually file original and 3 copies. Two are returned to the business, 1 true copy will be required by a bank or other financial institution when accounts are set up. The other copy is for the business' records. Some municipalities will also require a true copy to issue a business license.

The fee is $50 ($54 with 2 copies returned to the business). Payment may be made by Visa/ MasterCard, cash, check or money order.

Deliver the completed Trade Name Certificate (original and 1 to 3 copies) with filing fee to:
Cape May County Clerk
7 North Main Street
P.O. Box 5000
Cape May Court House, NJ 08210-5000

After you register your Business Trade Name with the County Clerk's Office new businesses should also register with the Internal Revenue Service for their Federal ID number at 800-829-4933 and register with the New Jersey Division of Revenue Business Gateway Services.

Other Entities
The following entities must file with the New Jersey Division of Revenue, not with the County Clerk:
  • Corporations (Profit and Non-Profit)
  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Limited Liability Partnerships
  • Limited Partnerships